Project properties

General tab

Use the Name edit box to change the project name.

The Encryption label shows the encryption type. Click the Modify button to change the security settings.

At Compression you find the compression options.

The Size label shows the size of the project and the Content label shows the number of files and folders of the project.

Use the Included file extensions and Excluded file extensions boxes to select the type of files to be included in or excluded from the project. Enter a list of file types, separated by semicolon, into either of them.

If you enter *.a* into the Included file extension box and *.??c in the Excluded file extension box,
  - will be included, since it matches the included mask,
  - will not be included, since it does not match the included mask,
  - will not be included, since it matches the excluded mask.


Use the Default action on name collision drop-down list to choose the action AceBackup will take by default, if you place a file into a project folder that already contains a file with the same name.

Note that this property determines the default setting for each new project item you add. You can override this property for each item separately. For more details, refer to the Project item properties.


Volume tab

The Volume tab displays information about the volume on which your data is stored. The path is the same as defined in the New project wizard.

Note that you cannot change the volume type, and the server host name (in case of an FTP server), while your project is created.

On the Volume tab you can select your backup destination. Click the Add button to indicate a new volume or a new path. In the following dialog box in the System field, you can select between Local System, FTP server, CD/DVD drive and Network Resource. By clicking the Settings button you can change the Internet settings. If you wish to create your backups on CD or DVD, indicate the drive of your CD writer. After that the application recognizes the model and the CD writer's writing speed automatically.

In the drop-down list Synchronization Mode you can select between All volumes are synchronized and All volumes are independent. If you select option All volumes are synchronized, the same content is saved on all volumes. If you select All volumes are independent, you can save diverse contents on all volumes.


Advanced tab

Mark the Maintain log file checkbox to enable AceBackup to log all the operations performed. By default, AceBackup stores the log files in the Report subfolder of its program directory. You can also mark the Send report via e-mail checkbox to enable AceBackup to send a report via e-mail. Choose one of these options: send e-mail after each operation or only after failed operations.

NOTE: Do not forget to enter your e-mail address in the Options dialog box.

In the External Applications section you can indicate a batch file you have written, which is supposed for example to exit the running server application. Indicate the path of this file in the field Before processing, and select a time period. In the field After processing indicate the batch file which is supposed to run the server application again.

You can configure AceBackup to perform operations, such as backing up or updating your project according to a schedule. To add, edit or remove a scheduled task, click the Edit button. For more information, refer to the Task scheduling section.